Welcome to The Few Good Men

Thanks for visiting our club and having a look around, there is a lot to see. Why not consider becoming a member?

FOG 2 Medieval Tactics

chiquichops

FGM Regimental Sergeant Major
FGM MEMBER
Reaction score
So, I'm new to FOG 2 but it's really a tabletop wargame on the computer, so I have plenty of experience at those from back in the day.
However, after playing @Wellsonian, my first human opponent (or even opponent really, because I hadn't even completed a full AI battle) I've realised that I've always played pretty intuitively. When it comes to tactics, well they were there but not on a highly analytical level.
Oh, this is getting boring already. To cut to the chase. I'm looking at my tactics, reading a bit of history, and learning a lot. The great bit is learning so much history.
Also, I can't really find any deep tactical guides for the game but there are quite a few things about the tabletop game.
Here's a link:
If you've been on the Slitherine forum, you've probably seen this anyway.
So, if you haven't, give the game a go (is there a demo? Not sure), share what you learn and hit me up for a good mutual kicking on the field.
I know I'm a late arrival and some of you have been into FOG2 for ages, just chipping in.
Ta very much

FOG2 is a complex game with a lot going on inside the code. Good tactics matter but luck plays a big role too.
The best advice I received was to understand two critical aspects; Points Of Advantage and Terrain. Use them to disrupt your opponent. Once you disrupt a unit, you can defeat it. I'm still learning how to do that.

Last edited:
I got this thinking it was a medieval version of Empires but different company put out the Empires while just using the FOG engine for tactical battles.

Hope eventually a Empires of medieval period comes out.

I kept this anyway. Could have got a refund off Steam but decided against it. Played a few battles. The campaign side of it looks weak, but otherwise pretty solid game.